I’m Goin’ Down to Tokyo

Ora sa Toukyou Iguda by Yoshi Ikuzo, translated by Whetfire

We ain’t got TV, we ain’t got radios,
We ain’t got no bikes, ya gotta walk around here!
Ain’t got pianos, and we ain’t got bars,
The cops ‘round here aint’ got nothin’ to do!
I get up in the mornin’ and go out to my field
Go herdin’ the cattle on a two hour walk

We don’t got cell phones, and we don’t got gas,
Only got a bus that comes through once a day!
Oh, how I hate this town, I really hate this town
So I’m goin’ to Tokyo, I’m goin’ down to Tokyo!
And when I’m there I’ll get a livin’ raisin’ cows!

We ain’t got guitars, we ain’t got speakers!
I’ve never seen any of ‘em in my life!
We got no cafes, and we ain’t got clubs,
Sheesh, I’m the only young’n around!
Mom and pop spend their entire day praying to the sky

We ain’t got drugstores, we ain’t got theaters,
Closest thing’s a guy who does puppet shows!
Oh, how I hate this town, I really hate this town
So I’m goin’ to Tokyo, I’m goin’ down to Tokyo!
And there I’ll make a fortune with horse-drawn carts!

Leave a Reply

